Varsity Club Overview

Many Worcester Academy letter winners gather each year at the Varsity Club Dinner to honor the recipient of the Annual Varsity Club Award.

About the Award
The Worcester Academy Varsity Club Award is presented annually to one of its former athletes who has distinguished himself or herself in the field of athletics as well as in their professional career.

Worcester Academy Varsity Club Bowl

We welcome recommendations and nominations from all Worcester Academy alums, teachers, coaches and former athletes.  Submit your recommendation or nomination to Edward Reilly, Director of Athletics, by mail, email or telephone.

Edward Reilly
Director of Athletics
Worcester Academy
81 Providence Street
Worcester, MA  01604
Telephone:  508-754-5302 Ext. 123

Varsity Club Award Recipients

Dr. Caitjan Gainty '93 2017 Lecturer in the History of Science, Technology and Medicine at King's College in London, England
Joseph Shield '81 2017 Former Professional Football Player (Quarterback), NFL, Green Bay Packers
Daniela Faas, Ph.D. '00 2016 Researcher and Instructor in Mechanical Engineering, Harvard College and MIT
Michael Wilhelm '86 2016 NBA Assistant Coach, Chicago Bulls
Katrina (Nelson) Larcher '94 2015
Obinna Ekezie '95 2015 Former Professional Basketball Player, NBA
Jennifer Kadis '92 2014 Special Education Teacher at the Gates Lane School of International Studies (Worcester, MA)
Dr. Edward Hjerpe III ’77 2013 President and CEO Federal Home Loan Bank of Boston
Kelly (Blackburn) Curran ’77 2013 Vice-President, Clinical Affairs (Boston Bio-Tech Firm)
Tracey (Blackburn) Crowell ’82 2013 Creative Director and Fitness Director
The Masjah Center of Fitness and Wellbeing
William Loughnane ’76 2012 Basketball Coach, Boston College High School
Massachusetts Coach of the Year (1994-1995)
Boston Globe Coach of the Year (1992 and 1996)
Mary Kate Foley ’98 2012 Senior Account Executive with The Gillette/Proctor & Gamble Company
Dr. Stefanie Chiras ’89 2011 Senior Manager at IBM Austin (TX) Research Lab
William Mudano ’62 2011 Executive Director, Connecticut Sports Management Group
Joseph Philbin ’80 2010 Offensive Coordinator, Green Bay Packers Football
Brian Baptiste ’72 2009 Head Basketball Coach and Associate Director of Athletics, UMASS Dartmouth
Mark P. Johnson ’86 2008 Professional Baseball Player, NY Mets
John A. “Jack” Hart ’80 2007 MA State Senator, BC Sports Hall of Fame, South Boston Sports Hall of Fame
James O’Leary ’70 2006 Director of Athletics, Head Football Coach, St. John’s Prep, Danvers, MA
Stephanie Carlson ’80 2005 Head Soccer Coach, WPI, Worcester, MA
Robert Dobias ’49 2003 Head Football Coach and Athletic Director at East Longmeadow High School
Archie Cataldi ’49 2002 Head Football Coach at Clinton High School
Tim Welsh ’80 2001 Head Basketball Coach at Providence College
Yvonne Goldsberry ’78 2000 Pioneer of Girls’ Athletics at WA
Athletic Hall of Fame inductee at Brown University
William Samko, Jr. ’69 1999 Division III Football Coach of the Year (1999) at Tufts University
Donn Nelson, Jr. ’82 1998 Dallas Mavericks Coach
Francis DeFelice ’58 1997 Educator and Coach
Daniel E. Doyle, Jr. ’68 1996 Founder, Shamrock Games and the Institute for International Sport at University of Rhode Island
Peter J. Sullivan ’58 1995 Educator and Coach
William W. Reynolds II ’64 1994 Educator and Journalist
Ronald J. Abdow ’50 1993 NCAA Division I Game Official and Restaurateur
Raymond J. Forkey ’36 1992 President, American Senior Golf Association
Chester Gladchuk, Jr. ’69 1991 University Athletics Administrator
Alexander Kulevich ’54 1990 Champion Football Coach
William Carmen ’37 1989 U.S. and World Track and Field Gold Medalist
Steven Adelman ’64 1988 All Star, Sugar Bowl Basketball Tournament
Richard Carlisle ’79 1987 Boston Celtic Player and NBA Coach
Armand LaMontagne ’58 1986 Sculptor and Artist
Paul M. Mitchell ’68 1985 Major League Pitcher
David Gavitt (Honorary) 1984 Commissioner, Big East Conference and Sports Executive
Harvey P. Sargisson ’24 1983 Educator
Edward J. “Ted” Mingolla ’57 1982 Chairman, Pleasant Valley Country Club
Herman Gundlach ’31 1981 College All Star Game Player
Louis C. D’Allesandro ’56 1980 President, Daniel Webster College
Ralph A. Hewitt ’28 1979 Educator
Brian Herosian ’69 1978 Baltimore Colts player, Canadian Football League All Pro
Anton Hulman, Jr. ’20 1977 President, Indianapolis Speedway
J. Howard McHugh ’30 1976 Dartmouth All American Hockey Player and Boston Celtic Staffer
Leon A. “Huck” Hannigan ’49 1975 Educator
John F. O’Leary ’36 1974 Professional Football Player
Jeffrey G. Bannister ’65 1973 U.S. Olympic Team Member
Willard L. Tibbetts ’22 1973 U.S. Olympic Team Member
John E. Ryan, Jr. ’40 1972 U.S. Military Academy Coach
Paul N. Johnson ’36 1971 Journalist
Paul V. Shannon, M.D. ’32 1970 Orthopedic Surgeon
Donald E. “Dee” Rowe ’47 1969 University of Connecticut Head Basketball Coach
John J. Pietro, Jr. ’48 1968 Former Cleveland Browns Player
Nevin D. “Ned” Harkness ’39 1967 Cornell University Champion Hockey Coach
Robert F. Hall ’62
1966 Bulger Lowe Award as New England’s Most Outstanding Football Player, as Brown University’s Quarterback
William A Toomey ’57 1966 Olympic Decathlon Gold Medalist
Henry P. McCarthy ’08 1965 Director of Numerous Basketball Tourneys,
Long-time Boston Garden Staffer
WORCESTER ACADEMY® is a co-ed day and boarding school for grades 6 to 12 and postgraduates. Our urban setting, diverse community, and innovative curriculum provide each student with unique opportunities for self-discovery, academic achievement, and personal empowerment.

Worcester Academy © 2014

81 Providence Street
Worcester, MA 01604
☏ 508-754-5302

Privacy Guidelines